Sunday night feeling

FotoFlexer_Photo‘Twas the night before Christmas eve…how are you faring? I must admit that I’m absolutely shattered and to be honest haven’t had the best of weeks! It’s easy to spend time getting caught up in the lights and sparkle of Christmas, planning parties and Christmas lunch and then when the time finally starts to arrive, you can find that you are too exhausted to enjoy it all and, quite frankly, are in a bit of a mood! I’ve certainly felt like that today and so we closed the door on the world, put on a movie and had an afternoon kip on the sofa.

Feeling much better now, I think it’s important to stop and think about what it’s all about. A cliche phrase at this time of year I know, however I’ve found that it’s true for me today. The photographs above are from last weekend when we were visiting our grandparents in Devon. They are amazing, wonderful people, yet suffering terribly due to ill health at the moment and I’m thankful for their spirit and example in these difficult times. Life still goes on, despite the twinkling Christmas lights and whilst I don’t wish to depress you with this post, I think it is important to note on blogs/social media etc that life is not always rosy and picture perfect!

Still, what I do have this Christmas is hope. In the form of a tiny baby boy, who came to the world 2,000 years ago and for whom I am very grateful. He displayed power in weakness and loved the unlovable. A truly amazing man – I wholeheartedly encourage you to read all about him if you haven’t already done so. He wasn’t afraid to touch the sick or sit and converse with the shunned in society. His bravery is remarkable. That is what Christmas is all about for me and I need to remember that when I’m getting a bit stressed and make sure that I’m loving my family and others in the way that his example calls me to and not as I might at first wish to!

So, I’ll leave you with this quotation for the Christmas and New Year period…

8x10 grayand look forward to catching up with you in the New Year! Have a peaceful and restful Christmas.

C.x

Images my own, quotation via here.

Leave a Reply

