Sunday night feeling

It's oh so quiet

I was reading the TES this week and saw an interesting article on the importance of silence. Many schools are now introducing weekly, if not daily, periods of silence. They range from 5 -15 minutes in length and one teacher spoke of how her class stop to listen when she asks them to. They don’t merely stop talking, they quiet themselves so that they are ready to listen and actually take on board what she is saying.

Well, if it’s good enough for the kids…

How often do I say I’m listening without really giving someone my full attention I? Too often to count I dare say. How often am I quiet during the day in order to stop and reflect, think, or just daydream? It’s a good question to ask yourself. Especially as so many advocate that our best, most creative moments come when we are daydreaming, or staring out of the window. Einstein did it all the time apparently.  I try to start my day with some quiet time as often as I can and tend to read the Bible during this time and pray about the day ahead. After that though it can be full steam ahead and quite crazy running from work, to errands etc, so perhaps scheduling in time to stop and be quiet throughout the day, even for 10 minutes is something I should think of doing. Especially as I noticed the other day that I can’t even make it through an ad break on the tv without reaching for my phone to check my twitter or instagram feed. It seems like we are becoming increasingly used to always doing something. Is that good for us?

What do you think? I’d be interested to hear your thoughts so please do leave a comment.

Have a great week,

C.x

Leave a Reply

