Today I’m inspired by…learning

Slide1

 

I’ve been blogging for just over 2 years now and have loved every moment so far. When I first started I knew absolutely nothing about blogging apart from reading a few interiors blogs. I started out very slowly and began working my way through the tutorials on WordPress, learning firstly how to post and then how to link to other places on the web.

To be honest I’ve surprised myself over the last 2 years with just how much I’ve learnt. I wouldn’t say I was a computer whizz – by any means! Yet little by little, I’ve learnt small editing skills online and even how to upload a customised header and background. All without spending a penny. Now I must say that there are some fabulous online classes out there so I’m not saying that it wouldn’t be valuable to take an online blogging class. I took this one for example and loved it. It was a great introduction to the world of blogging. But, there is lots you can learn via the web too which means that you can accomplish a great deal on your own and feel proud of your growth as a blogger as you do. I’m so happy that I have a few more skills to add to my blogging repertoire. My skills aren’t as extensive as I’d like, and there are times when I look at other people’s blogs and feel a little disheartened with my own, or feel that it doesn’t look quite the way I would like it to. Yet I’m learning and growing all the time and that feels great.

So, I wanted to share some of what I’ve learnt with you. I’m planning a small series of 3 or 4 posts where I’ll be sharing some beginners tips (I still consider myself a beginner in many ways) and so maybe we can learn together? I have 3 top tips for you today. So let’s begin…

1. Take screen shots of your blog as it develops. This is something that I wish I had done. When I first started blogging, I used a WordPress theme verbatim and didn’t change a single thing – I didn’t know how to! Then gradually, I made a few customisations as I went along and they quickly changed the overall look of Celebrate Creation. I often wish I could look back at the ‘early days’ and see how things have changed on the blog. I can refer back to early posts, but not the old theme I used for my blog template etc. So, keep a record of your learning/changes as you go. It’ll form a good basis of blogging memories for you and you’ll be able to track your progress much more effectively.

2. When in doubt, You Tube or Pinterest. When I started to blog, I would often You Tube blogging terms that I didn’t understand. There are some fantastic folk out there who have taken the time to make some valuable and useful videos that teach you step by step pretty much anything that you want to know. More recently I’ve started to keep a blogging board on Pinterest which is where I collect any good tips or information that I come across from the web and other bloggers that I admire.

3. Take time to read a variety of blogs. This is a nice one! I love reading blogs and could easily lose hours from my day this way if I didn’t keep a check on it! I recommend spending some time making a list of areas you would like to improve on your blog – I want to work on my ‘about’ and ‘diy’ page for example. They need adding to and tidying up a bit! So, I’m planning on spending an hour or 2 on Saturday (while the Mr plays football), researching these types of pages on some of my favourite blogs and analysing why I like them or find them inspiring. This will hopefully help me to improve my own pages and make them something I can feel more proud of.

Do you have any blogging tips of your own to share? Or favourite blogs? You can leave any tips for blogging or blogs to read in the comments section. I’d love to see your recommendations.

Leave a Reply

