Celebrate Neon

Neon medley

What are your thoughts on neon interiors? Love it or hate it, neon is making a definite appearance in fashion and interiors at the moment and seems set to stay for spring/summer 2013. I have to admit that in the past, I haven’t been such a huge fan on neon colours. I think it may be because I’m a redhead. Let me explain. Growing up as a redhead or ‘ginger’ you often hear things like “Don’t wear red. Or orange. Or yellow” – to be honest the list of colours ‘not to wear’ seemed endless 😦 All because they were deemed to be colours that would clash with my hair colour. As a result, I’ve noticed that I tend to stick to a fairly selective palette of colours for dressing in and even within my home.

When I came across this colour challenge, I was encouraged to give it a go and pursue colours that I normally shy away from. I set up a neon interiors board over on pinterest and spent 20 minutes pinning away before admiring the results. 75 pins later I soon saw that actually I rather like neon! Especially as there is so much you can do with neon and grey – one of my absolute favourite modern neutrals for decorating. Above is just some of my pins from my newly founded neon board. What do you think? I’m not sure how I’m going to get neon into our home yet but I’m certainly going to try…

Images via

Leave a Reply

