The power of podcasts #2

Serial logo

A while ago I wrote a post about some podcasts that I had been listening to and shared a few of my favourites with you. Last week, as I was reading some of the blogs that I follow which are based in the US, I heard about a podcast that has taken America by storm called Serial. Intrigued, I downloaded the first episode and listened to it on Saturday morning. Then I listened to another, and another, and another. I listened to all 8 episodes that have currently been released in just a few days. I. am. hooked.

I feel a bit weird disclosing that however as Serial is the true story of a young man, Adnan, who has been convicted for the murder of his high school ex-girlfriend. He is currently serving a prison sentence for her murder. I’m not hooked because this is a good ‘story’. It’s not a story, it’s real life and so I feel I must discuss this topic with sensitivity and respect. I’m hooked because the style of journalism that the main journalist, Sarah Koenig, engages with is gripping. You go on a journey with Sarah each episode, sharing her doubts, sympathising with her concerns and trying to shed some light on this mystery. I won’t to go into much more detail here as I don’t want to spoil this for you if you want to listen. Needless to say I’m really enjoying this style of journalism, (not the subject matter so much), and I’d be interested to hear what you think about it.

You can download the episodes here, or read what other sources, such as the Washington post have to say about this podcast.

Image via Serial

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

