Sunday night feeling

IMG_0715

If you’ve been to Paris, you’ve probably seen the love locks on the bridges across the river Seine. They are so popular that there are now sellers who lay out blankets on the bridge, selling padlocks and keys. The idea is that you write the name of you and your beau onto the padlock, lock it to the bridge and throw the key into the river below. It’s a sign of never failing love and eternal commitment.

This weekend I spent time reflecting on lots of ‘things’ that have kept me locked in a certain state for a while. I went to a women’s retreat day at Everyday church in Wimbledon. I’ve never been before and didn’t really know what to expect. There was a lot of time reflecting and time spent focussing on God and your relationship with him. I’m not always the best and stopping, thinking deeply and listening for answers. I like to consider myself to be a reflective person and I do often think about relationships, work, goals etc. However, after thinking I quickly move on. I’m not always great at listening. This weekend I listened and I was encouraged by what I heard. For the first time in a long while, I felt a weight being lifted from my shoulders and a hope for the future that I haven’t felt for a while. I’ll share more explicitly with you sometime in the future. It’s not a topic I can go into detail about today as although I feel encouraged, this chapter of my story isn’t quite over yet. When it is and life has moved on to the next chapter, I’ll fill you in. Apologies if that’s frustrating. I don’t mean to be cryptic! For tonight I just wish to share the fact that I really do believe that there is hope to be found in Jesus and a relationship with him. I’m still learning what that means and what it’s all about but I’m excited to do so. So, whilst I appreciate the sentiments behind the love locks, I’m happy that tonight I feel as if a padlock has been taken off me and trust me, I’m throwing it in the river! Being free to hope for the future and dream of good things to come is an incredible luxury and one I hope never to take for granted.

Have a good Monday folks,

C.x

Image Celebrate Creation

One thought on “Sunday night feeling

Leave a Reply

