Sunday night feeling – part two!

Desk

Hi there. So life is busy, busy, busy. When isn’t it? Still it’s been busy in a good way so I’m not complaining. Apart from the fact that this post has been delayed until today so that I could move through a huge ‘to-do’ list over the weekend. Most of my jobs this weekend revolved around the house. It’s exciting thinking that we might move in the future but also exhausting keeping the place tidy for viewings! I’m looking forward to being able to leave a pile of paperwork strewn across the side of a counter without minding again.

Last week I mentioned that I was seeking to note down small accomplishments throughout this past week in order to celebrate them. If you are anything like me, you are probably very aware of everything you haven’t done, or are planning to do, and perhaps are not so great and stopping and appreciating what you have achieved. No matter how small. Or, perhaps you could do better at slowing down to appreciate the little things that others do for you? Trust me, there’s no judgement here if the latter is true. I am often guilty of letting kind and thoughtful actions go by without always acknowledging them. So this past week I sought to address that. Here’s how I got on.

Monday: Last Monday was an incredibly busy day. It was filled with meetings and marking that continued until 8.30pm. So I just sat back at the end of the day and appreciated a job well done. No planning. No ‘to do list’ for tomorrow. Just sat back and allowed myself to feel happy with all I had done that day.

Tuesday: My lovely colleague Amy bought me a drink back from her lunch break. It was a sweet gesture and Ribena. Yes, I may be 34 but I love a Ribena.

Wednesday: I had lunch with my lovely husband Toby in the Victoria and Albert museum as I was working in London on Wednesday so able to meet up with him. Great man, great food, great location.

Thursday: I survived a spinning class. Enough said.

Friday: I enjoyed reading some of my favourite blogs during my break today. It’s a huge source of inspiration for me.

Saturday: Toby and I enjoyed brunch with some new friends and enjoyed laughing with them.

Sunday: I started a new volunteer role at church on the welcome team. If you ever come to Kings church in Kingston, I’ll be there to say hi to you on the door. It was good to be challenged and taken out of my comfort zone a bit and I’m grateful for the incredibly kind and lovely people who are on the team with me who patiently showed me the ropes.

So there you have it! It was good to note down the little things and reflect each day. I’m going to carry on with it this week. Why not give it a try?

C.x

Image via

Leave a Reply

