How to brighten your home with spring colours

Since writing this blog, I’ve seen my tastes in interior design grow hugely. I may have mentioned it before but I used to be so timid when it came to using colour in my home, or wearing it via my clothing. Little by little, I’ve been positiviely influenced by interior designers and stylists as I read their blogs or follow their work in magazines and been encouraged to try something new and a bit more daring when applying colour to our home. So much so, that our living room now contains a brightly coloured yellow rug. I would never have thought to do this a few years ago but am so glad that I have the confidence to go for it now!

My new favourite colour for interior accessories is mint green. I saw a beautiful grey wall paint that had a tint of green within it recently which started a mini pinterest and google image wander into the land of mint interior accessories and styling. Here are some of my favourite finds:

Mint green chairThis chair is a lovely way to dip your toe in the water if experimenting with green. It’s a subtle way to introduce mint into a room without commiting to painting a wall or buying a larger piece of furniture in the colour.

5-Mint-green-dining-room-chairs-665x431

Or, you could buddy the chairs with a striking ceiling pendant if you want to go for a more dramatic effect.

Pinterest - Mint and grey

I love the colour of this wall. It makes the white trim of the window pane and picture frames look clean and crisp.

Marmalade interiors

Proof that mint green can work with a variety of other brights!

Have you decorated with mint green in your home? If so leave a link to your blog in the comments section below if you have posted about it so that we can take a look.

Images via 1, 2, 3, 4

Leave a Reply

