How to up-cycle a side table (the easy way!)

Hello there! How have things been with you? I’ve been looking forward to sharing this post with you and so am glad we are finally here.

As many of you know, I work full time outside the home as well as curating this little corner of the internet here at Celebrate Creation. As a busy working woman, I’m often on the hunt for some quick wins in the DIY and interiors stakes. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good DIY or interior project as much as the next blogger, but I’m often pressed for the amount of time that I can realistically give to a project.

However, this side table DIY was so easy to do that I wanted to share it with you in case you fancy doing something similar.

We first spotted this table in a thrift shop in Devon a few years ago. My husband was looking for something small to put on his side of the sofa for a cup of tea/beer and so when we saw this for £5 it seemed too good an opportunity to pass up.

table-before

We lived with it as it was for the first few years of owning it. The wood was in pretty good condition, although it did have a few stains. Despite this, the table was always in the back of my mind as one of those pieces of furniture to update and so when I was busy up-cycling the Ikea chest of drawers in our spare room, (which you can see here), I decided to paint the table at the same time.

table-after

Here’s the after effect. The table is now a chalky blue/grey and adds a lovely pop of colour to our sitting room.

table-after-2

It’s the perfect size for a cup of tea and a book. Perfect for those Autumn/Winter evenings and Sunday afternoons by the fire.

I used Annie Sloan paint which was very easy to apply and seems to dry in no time at all. I painted two coats onto the table and had completed the project in a few hours. My top tip if I were to repeat this project again would be to buy a sash brush as this prevents you from getting drips down the table legs or on the underside of the table. I learnt this the hard way as I used a regular painting brush. This added time to the project as I needed to sand off some of the drips before I painted the second coat.

What do you think? If you are looking for some quick and easy ways to inject colour into your home I thoroughly recommend investing in some chalk paint!

Images Celebrate Creation

 

Leave a Reply

