New Year goals for 2017

lampHappy New Year! I hope you have had a peaceful and restful few weeks.

Today I wanted to share with you one of my goals for 2017. As you may recall from previous years posts, I’m not really one for new year resolutions, but I am committed to setting goals at the start of the new year and working towards them bit by bit. My one rule is that the goal has to be something I genuinely want to do, as opposed to feeling like I ‘should’ or ‘have to’ do it! Past goals have included studying interior design, joining a gospel choir and completing the NHS couch to 5K programme. You can read more about my past goals here.

One goal that I have every year is to make my way through a list of books, as I absolutely love reading.

lamp-2

We have so many books that I often choose to make a feature of them in our home, otherwise the place could quite easily start to look a bit dishevelled and cluttered. I’ve chosen to style them by grouping books with similar coloured spines together in the living room, and have also placed some on our mantlepiece.

lamp-1

With all that reading, you need a good reading light – especially as our days are so short and dark in the UK at the moment. This lamp from Cox and Cox is a new addition to our home that we received just before Christmas. It’s a Cole black floor lamp and perfect for sitting under in the winter evenings. The design of the piece means that it casts a pretty strong light and is perfect task lighting. It would be equally useful in a home office for this reason. You would need to ensure you have a very low wattage bulb if you wanted to create a relaxing, soft light with this lamp.

Initially, I wanted to use it as a corner lamp in the living room but it is much shorter than I first anticipated  – it measures 140cm in height. It does make a perfect ‘over the shoulder’ reading lamp though and would be equally useful for knitting or sewing projects. I often find that I make more craft projects in the Autumn and Winter months. Probably something to do with huddling under a blanket and wanting to do something a bit more sedentary during the cold evenings.

Do you have any goals for 2017? Don’t forget to leave a comment below or tweet me on @celebratecreatn.

Images: Celebrate Creation

Disclaimer: The Cole floor lamp was sent to me as a gift by Cox and Cox. I didn’t have to review it but have chosen to, as I love their products and wanted to highlight them to you. They have a great sale on at the moment…

Leave a Reply

